Future Exhibitions



New Glass 2015: Archaeology, Excavation and the Arcane

Curator: Magda Keaney

17 June 2015 to 30 August 2015


In June 2015 the Canberra Glassworks celebrates the centenary of our home, the Kingston Powerhouse, the first of several landmark buildings designed in Canberra by architect John Smith Murdoch. We are taking the opportunity to celebrate the past while looking to the future, with an exhibition featuring the work of a new generation of Australian glassmakers. The exhibition will be a curated selection of exciting new glass talent whose work pushes boundaries of traditional studio practice in concept and execution. The exhibition is themed around the ideas of archaeology, excavation and the arcane, encouraging visitors to think about what history is, how we uncover it, the unexpected secrets it holds and how even the things we take for granted as new technology today can seem outdated and ancient in a few years or a decade.

Participating artists: Lucy Quinn (QLD), Nick Adams (ACT), Georgina Cockshott (VIC), Lea Douglas (ACT), Ngaio Fitzpatrick (ACT) and Alex Valero (SA).

image: Nick Adams, Duck Duck Dog, 2014



Protecting Country: 1300 and Counting

Protecting Country: 1300 and Counting is a special  ANZAC Centenary special exhibition inspired by the remarkable stories behind the undefined number of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander men who deceived the conscription recruiters to be able to serve for the Australian Army in World War 1 from 1915.

Line credits:
This project is supported by an ANZAC Centenary Local Grant from the Department of Veteran’s Affairs.  Kelli Cole, Visual Arts Curatorial Fellow is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council for the Arts, its arts funding and advisory body. This exhibition is part of Honouring Cultures, a special project in collaboration with the Indigenous Textiles and Glass Artists Group (ITAG).

What's Hot this Week

    Like us on Facebook